Dedicated & Experienced
Disability Attorneys
Request Free Consultation

How to File a Workers’ Compensation Claim in Minnesota

Request Free Consultation
Posted By KSK Law | August 1 2022 | Workers' Comp

People who are injured on the job in Minnesota are entitled to workers’ compensation benefits. Virtually all businesses must provide workers’ compensation coverage to employees, minus certain workers who are exempt from this insurance.

Whether you are injured on a construction site or while working in a factory, you deserve benefits if you are hurt on the job. Here is how to file a workers’ compensation claim in Minnesota.

1. Initiating Your Minnesota Workers’ Compensation Claim

If you are injured at work or develop an occupational disease, you must report your injury to your employer within 14 days. This period begins on the day that you suffered the injury or the day that you knew or should have known that the occupational disease was related to your work.

You can report a workplace injury up to 30 days following your accident as long as your employer was not harmed by the delay. However, this is not guaranteed. For best results, it is best to initiate your claim and report your injury as soon as possible.

After you report your workplace injury, your employer will file a First Report of Injury form with the workers’ compensation insurance company. You will receive a copy of this form. Then, the insurer will file a report with the Minnesota Department of Labor & Industries (MDLI) within 10 days.

2. Seeking Medical Attention After a Workplace Injury

After a workplace injury, it is important to seek medical care as soon as possible. If you are suffering from life-threatening injuries, you can receive emergency medical treatment from any healthcare provider.

If you have a non-emergency injury, you may need to see a medical provider approved by your employer. If your employer has a state-managed care plan, you will need to see a doctor who is within the plan’s network. You can see a healthcare provider of your choice if your employer does not have a managed care plan.

3. Appealing a Workers’ Compensation Decision in Minnesota

After reporting your injury to the MDLI, your workers’ compensation insurer will need to investigate your claim and issue a decision within 14 days. The company may choose to accept your claim and award benefits for medical care, wage replacement, and disability. The company can also choose to deny your claim completely.

If you are unsatisfied with the company’s decision, you have the right to file an appeal with the MDLI. You have three years from the date of your workplace injury to initiate this claim. A judge at the Minnesota Office of Administrative Hearings will oversee your case and decide whether to change or uphold the insurer’s decision.

4. Hiring a Minnesota Workers’ Compensation Attorney

Navigating a workers’ compensation claim can be a challenge. There are many rules and requirements involved in this process, and many insurance companies are reluctant to provide maximum benefits to an injured employee. To build the strongest case for compensation, you need an attorney on your side.

A Minnesota workers’ compensation lawyer will have years of experience representing injured employees and will work diligently to secure the benefits that you deserve. As soon as possible following your injury, contact an attorney to discuss your next steps.

Free Consultation

*required fields